At a glance
| If you need | Look at | What the sources say | Check |
|---|---|---|---|
| A painted or lacquered flat surface | MDF; moisture-resistant MDF in humid rooms | Fibre boards have smooth faces and edges; the American woodwork standards rate MDF's edge and surface 'excellent' | Seal every face and edge; sand cut edges first (maker's advice) |
| A damp room, not a wet one | Moisture-resistant MDF; plywood for humid conditions (EN 636); OSB/3; compact laminate | Data sheets state humid conditions, and 'not suitable for external applications' | Cyclic swelling is 15 to 19 per cent for the MR MDF read; coat all faces |
| Better reaction to fire | Fire-retardant MDF or particleboard | B-s1,d0 stated for 6 to 30 mm on one data sheet; ordinary boards default to D | The declaration of performance, then the finished build |
| A stiff panel or shelf | Plywood; compact laminate; then OSB, MDF, particleboard | Birch plywood about 7,500 to 10,000 N/mm² MDF 2,000 to 2,700; P2 1,200 to 1,800 | Span and deflection: see the shelving sheet |
| A hard-wearing, wet-cleaned surface | Compact laminate; thin HPL bonded to a substrate | Compact laminate: density 1,350 kg/m³ or more, bending 80 N/mm² or more, low swelling | Thickness range, edges and fixing |
Data-sheet requirements or means for single products, in N/mm²: examples, not design values. The American ratings are for veneered-panel cores.
The chart: nine materials side by side
First, what each material is and the standard that describes it, with what we saw of its status. Then what the data sheets say about damp, fire and formaldehyde.
| Board | What it is | Standard, and what we saw of its status |
|---|---|---|
| MDF, general | Wood fibres, resin, heat and pressure; even through its thickness | BS EN 622-5:2009, current |
| Moisture-resistant (MR) MDF | MDF made for humid interior conditions | BS EN 622-5:2009, type MDF.H |
| Fire-retardant (FR) MDF | MDF with a fire retardant; some made without added formaldehyde | BS EN 622-5:2009, type FR |
| Particleboard (chipboard) P2 | Chips and resin, fine faces and a coarser core | BS EN 312:2010, current, under review |
| OSB | Strands in crossed layers, resin bonded | BS EN 300:2006, current |
| Plywood | Veneers glued with the grain crossed | BS EN 636:2012+A1:2015, current; BS EN 13986 |
| Blockboard, laminboard | A core of timber strips between veneers | Classified under BS EN 12775:2001 (solid wood panels); requirements in BS EN 13353:2022; the old BS 3583:1963 was withdrawn in 1985 |
| HPL, thin laminate | Resin-bonded paper sheet under 2 mm, bonded to a substrate | BS EN 438-3:2016, current |
| Compact laminate | Resin-bonded paper layers, 2 mm and over, self-supporting | BS EN 438-4:2016, current |
And the same rows for damp conditions, fire and formaldehyde, as the data sheets state them:
| Board | Damp conditions, as the data sheets state them | Reaction to fire, as stated | Formaldehyde, as stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| MDF, general | Not stated on the sheet read; the MR type is the humid-conditions one | Default D-s2,d0 from 9 mm and 600 kg/m³ (EC) | E1 E05 |
| MR MDF | Humid conditions; not for external use; coat all surfaces; Hazard Class 1 and 2 of EN 335 with a coating | Not stated on the two sheets read; default D-s2,d0 from 9 mm (EC) | E1 |
| FR MDF | Dry (service class 1) for one; humid (service class 2, no contact with water) for the MR FR | B-s1,d0 for 6 to 30 mm (MR FR); B-s2,d0 for 6 to 11.9 mm and B-s1,d0 for 12 to 30 mm (FR) | E1; the NAF board states under 0.04 ppm |
| Particleboard P2 | Interior fitments including furniture, dry conditions | D-s2,d0 declared (one DoP) | E05 (at most 0.062 mg/m³) in one DoP |
| OSB | OSB/3 load-bearing in humid conditions; OSB/2 load-bearing in dry (one leaflet) | D-s2,d0 from 9 mm; E below 9 mm (one OSB/3 sheet) | E1; at most 0.03 ppm (one sheet) |
| Plywood | A merchant's guide lists EN 636-1 (interior) and EN 636-2 types, with bond EN 314-2 class 1 (interior) or class 3 (exterior) | Default D-s2,d0 from 400 kg/m³ and 9 mm (EC) | E1 (tested to EN 717-2) |
| Blockboard, laminboard | Not read | 'Solid wood panel' default D-s2,d0 from 400 kg/m³ and 12 mm (EC) | Not read |
| HPL, thin laminate | Depends on the substrate and the bond | Not read | Not read |
| Compact laminate | Low swelling; easy care (data sheets) | D-s2,d0 (6 mm and over on one sheet), C (12 mm, one sheet), B-s1,d0 (FR grade); not classified in thin sheets | E1 E05 (one sheet) |
The columns are what the documents say, not a verdict. ‘Default class’ is the class a board can be given without testing when it meets a minimum density and thickness and is mounted as the Commission Decision describes (see the fire section). A ‘requirement’ on a data sheet is the minimum the maker guarantees; a ‘mean’ is an average for one product.
The numbers: what the data sheets give
Every figure below comes from a data sheet or a handbook table we read. Most data-sheet figures are requirements: the least the maker says the board will achieve, so real boards are usually stiffer and stronger. The plywood figures are means for one formwork-grade product, which is why plywood looks stiffer than anything else. They are examples for scale. They are not design values, and the standards they come from describe product properties, not characteristic values for structural design.
| Material (data sheets read) | Density, kg/m³ | Bending strength, N/mm² | Modulus of elasticity, N/mm² | Other |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MDF, general (one sheet, requirements) | 700 to 720 mean | 21 to 25 | 2,000 to 2,200 | Internal bond 0.40 to 0.55 |
| MR MDF (two sheets, requirements) | Not stated | 24 to 27 | 2,400 to 2,700 | Swelling 24 h 8 to 12 per cent; after cyclic test 15 to 19 per cent |
| FR MDF, dry use (one sheet) | Described as high density | 23 to 29 | 2,300 to 3,000 | Swelling 24 h 10 to 30 per cent |
| FR MDF, moisture-resistant (one sheet) | Described as high density | 22 to 27 | 2,300 to 2,700 | Swelling 24 h 7 to 12 per cent |
| Particleboard P2 (two sheets, 6 to 40 mm) | 600 to 720 (one sheet) | 8.5 to 11 | 1,200 to 1,800 | Internal bond 0.20 to 0.40 |
| OSB/3 (one sheet quoting EN 300) | 600 | Major axis 16 to 22; minor 8 to 11 | 3,500 major; 1,400 minor | Swelling at most 15 per cent |
| Birch plywood, formwork grade (one sheet, 18 and 21 mm, means) | About 700 (merchant's guide) | 34.1 to 40.2 (characteristic) | 7,452 to 10,048 (mean) | Face grain across and along |
| Compact laminate (three sheets) | 1,350 or more (one: 1,400) | 80 or more | 9,000 or more (one sheet: 10,000 to 14,000) | Thickness 2 to 15 mm on one range |
For scale, the US Wood Handbook gives the following for typical North American products. They are older, they come from several mills, and they are not UK products.
| Wood Handbook Table 12-1 (US products) | Specific gravity | Modulus of elasticity, GPa | Modulus of rupture, MPa |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medium-density fibreboard | 0.7 to 0.9 | 3.59 | 35.9 |
| Particleboard | 0.6 to 0.8 | 2.76 to 4.14 | 15.2 to 24.1 |
| Oriented strandboard | 0.5 to 0.8 | 4.41 to 6.28 | 21.8 to 34.7 |
| Plywood | 0.4 to 0.6 | 6.96 to 8.55 | 33.7 to 42.6 |
| Hardboard | 0.9 to 1.0 | 3.10 to 5.52 | 31.0 to 56.5 |
Thickness and size. The tolerance on thickness decides whether two boards sit flush at a joint, and the sheet size decides waste. The sheets read give:
| Material | Thickness tolerance on the data sheet (mm) | Sheet sizes read (mm) |
|---|---|---|
| MDF, sanded | plus or minus 0.2 (MR); 0.2 to 0.3 (general) | 1,220 x 2,440 and 1,220 x 3,050 (one MR sheet) |
| P2 particleboard | plus or minus 0.3 | Not stated on the sheets read |
| OSB/3 | Unsanded plus or minus 0.5; sanded 0.3 | 2,440 x 1,220 (one OSB/2 leaflet) |
| Birch plywood, sanded | +0.6/-0.8 at 15 mm; +0.7/-0.9 at 18 mm (merchant's guide) | 2,440 x 1,220; 1,220 x 3,050; 1,525 x 1,525; 1,525 x 3,050 |
| Compact laminate | Plus or minus 0.2 at 2 mm, rising to 0.6 at 12 and 15 mm | 4,100 x 1,300 and 4,100 x 650 for 12 mm (one sheet) |
The sheet sizes shown are the sizes in the sheets read: they are a starting point for the designing to standard sizes sheet, not a statement of what a partner can supply.
Which board for which job
Pick the board from the question, then write down the standard, the type and the document. The table below ties each job to what the sources say. It is a guide to what to ask, not a rule.
| Job | Boards to consider | What the sources say | Check |
|---|---|---|---|
| Carcases and fixed shelves | Plywood; P2 particleboard; MDF | Stiffness differs by a factor of about four to eight between particleboard and birch plywood (chart above). The American woodwork standards rate particleboard's screw holding 'fair' and MDF's 'good'. | Screws into edges; the shelf sheet's arithmetic; thickness tolerance at joints |
| Veneered panels | MDF; veneer-core plywood; particleboard | In the American table, MDF has excellent flatness and edge quality, a veneer core has excellent stability but only fair flatness, and veneer core panels ‘should not be used for cabinet doors because they are likely to warp’ (AWS 1.3.3). | A balancing back veneer: see the veneer sheet |
| Doors and panels to be sprayed | MDF; MR MDF | Smooth and fine-edged. The MR data sheets say to condition for two to three days in the final environment and to coat every face. | Dust control; sealing the edges |
| Fire-retardant work | FR MDF; FR particleboard | The American standards say fire-retardant cores 'should not be used for exteriors because they typically attract moisture' (AWS 1.3.4); the MDF data sheets say not to let the board touch water, and that certification of a door or wall built with it is the producer's responsibility. | Declaration of performance; the finished build |
| Worktops, vanity tops, wet-cleaned surfaces | Compact laminate; thin HPL on a substrate | Compact laminate data sheets give 12 mm worktop sizes, low swelling and resistance to boiling water, wet heat and staining at stated levels. | Fixing, edges and the quoted fire class for the thickness |
| Light panels | Combination cores; low-density fibreboard; blockboard | The American standards say low-density fibreboard saves weight but is 'substantially less' in performance, and combination cores are 'stronger, lighter weight' panels (AWS 1.4.1, 1.4.2). | Partner's own data; no UK figures read |
| Curved work | Bending plywood; flexible boards; kerfing | No data sheet or radius was read. A merchant's guide lists thin birch plywood from 0.4 mm as 'strong yet flexible'. | Ask the partner for the radius it achieves and the build |
The American woodwork standards also say that formaldehyde emission regulations should be researched before shipping into an unfamiliar area (AWS 1.3.5). The studio coordinates manufacture through partner workshops, so the board supplier, the data sheet and the declaration of performance are the partner’s to supply, and the specification should ask for them.
Reaction to fire: where the boards sit
Ordinary wood-based boards are not non-combustible, and the class they carry matters when they line a wall or a ceiling. In England, Approved Document B asks surface linings to meet class B-s3,d2 in other circulation spaces (which in volume 1 include the common areas of blocks of flats), C-s3,d2 in other rooms, and D-s3,d2 in small rooms (volume 1 Table 4.1; volume 2 Table 6.1, small rooms being up to 4 m² in residential accommodation and, in volume 2, 30 m² in other buildings). Parts of walls may be of lower performance, but no worse than D-s3,d2, over up to half the room’s floor area and a stated maximum area (volume 1, 4.4; volume 2, 6.4). The same paragraphs say a wall does not include doors and door frames, architraves, cover moulds, picture rails, skirtings and similar narrow members, or fireplace surrounds, mantle shelves and fitted furniture (4.3, 6.3). The 2025 amendment removed the national classes for reaction to fire: only the European classes are used now. The Decision’s classes also cover veneered, phenol-faced and melamine-faced panels (footnote 5).
Commission Decision 2007/348/EC, as it stands on legislation.gov.uk, lists the class that wood-based panels can be given without testing. These are minimum densities, thicknesses and mountings, and a board that is thinner, lighter or mounted differently does not get the class:
| Mounting (Decision 2007/348/EC Table 1) | Boards | Minimum density and thickness | Default class |
|---|---|---|---|
| Directly on a substrate of class A1 or A2-s1,d0 (or at least D-s2,d2 at 400 kg/m³), no air gap | Particleboard, MDF, OSB, medium fibreboard | 600 kg/m³, 9 mm | D-s2,d0 |
| The same | Plywood; solid wood panel | 400 kg/m³, 9 mm (plywood) or 12 mm (solid wood panel) | D-s2,d0 |
| With a closed or open air gap of up to 22 mm behind, the back face of the cavity at least A2-s1,d0 | Particleboard, MDF, OSB, plywood, solid wood panel | As above, 9 mm | D-s2,d2 |
| With a closed air gap behind, the back face at least D-s2,d2 | Particleboard, MDF, OSB; plywood | 600 kg/m³, 15 mm; 400 kg/m³, 15 mm | D-s2,d0; D-s2,d1 for plywood |
| With an open air gap behind | Particleboard, MDF, OSB, plywood | 600 or 400 kg/m³, 18 mm | D-s2,d0 |
So a plain board 9 mm or thicker, fixed directly to a class A1 or A2 substrate, defaults to D-s2,d0. That meets the small-room class and the lower-performance allowance, but it does not reach the C-s3,d2 asked for in other rooms, or the B-s3,d2 of circulation spaces. A board with a declared class of B-s1,d0, such as the fire-retardant MDF read, does. Whether a given panelling build, with its fixing, air gap and finish, achieves the class is for the fire engineer and the test or classification evidence: see the sheet on the fire performance of wall panelling. This is guidance, not fire advice.
Paperwork and standards: how to read the labels
What to ask for with any board, in the order a reviewer will want it:
- The standard and type, with edition: for example EN 622-5 type MDF.H, EN 312 type P2, EN 300 OSB/3, EN 636 for the conditions of use, EN 438-4 compact.
- The declaration of performance (EN 13986) for the board and thickness supplied. The P2 declaration read lists reaction to fire, formaldehyde release, biological durability and thermal conductivity, and shows ‘NPD’ (no performance determined) for several properties. Marking: the sheets read carry CE marking; we did not see UKCA marking on them, so ask what mark the supplied board carries.
- The emission class and its test method (EN 717-1): E1 is the usual class stated, E05 appears on some sheets, and one declaration gives E05 as at most 0.062 mg/m³.
- The reaction to fire class for the thickness, as declared, and what mounting it applies to.
- Face grade, thickness tolerance and sizes, and for plywood the bond class and the veneer species.
- Chain-of-custody documents if the specification calls for them: see the FSC and PEFC sheet.
- Storage and conditioning: the MR data sheets say to condition for two to three days in the final environment and to coat every face before installation.
Standards change. What we saw on 5 and 6 November 2026:
| Standard | Covers | Status we saw |
|---|---|---|
| BS EN 622-5:2009 | Dry-process fibreboards (MDF) | Current (published 31 May 2010) |
| BS EN 312:2010 | Particleboards, unfaced | Current, under review (published 30 Nov 2010); the 2003 edition is withdrawn |
| BS EN 300:2006 | Oriented strand boards (OSB) | Current (published 31 Aug 2006); a search summary reports a revision in preparation |
| BS EN 636:2012+A1:2015 | Plywood | Current (published 31 Jan 2013); the 2003 edition is withdrawn |
| BS EN 13986:2004+A1:2015 | Wood-based panels for construction: characteristics, conformity and marking | Current, under review |
| BS EN 12775:2001; BS EN 13353:2022 | Solid wood panels (including blockboard): classification; requirements | 12775 current, under review; 13353:2022 current per a search summary of its BSI listing |
| BS EN 438-3:2016; BS EN 438-4:2016 | HPL under 2 mm; compact laminates of 2 mm and over | Both current |
| BS EN 717-1:2004 | Formaldehyde emission, chamber method | Current, under review |
| BS EN 14322:2004; BS 3583:1963 | Melamine-faced boards for interior use; information about blockboard and laminboard | Both withdrawn (BS 3583 in 1985) |
The MDF decoded sheet goes further on MDF types, and the finishes on timber joinery sheet covers what goes on the board.
Specification wording
Paste into your schedule or specification and replace anything in [square brackets] with your own figures. Wording is a starting point: your specification governs.
[MDF] to BS EN 622-5 [type MDF.H], [18] mm, [sanded], with the manufacturer's declaration of performance. Maker, product and standard edition on the shop drawing. Boards conditioned in the final environment for [two to three] days before processing and coated on all faces and edges.
[Birch] plywood to BS EN 636 for [dry / humid] conditions, bond to EN 314-2 class [1 / 3], face grade [B/BB], [E1], [18] mm, with the maker's declaration of performance. Edges [lipped / veneered / sealed].
Where improved reaction to fire is required: [fire-retardant MDF] declared Euroclass [B-s1,d0] for the thickness used, by the manufacturer's declaration of performance, and confirmed for the finished build (substrate, air gap, fixing, finish) by [fire engineer].
[Compact laminate to BS EN 438-4], [12] mm, decor [ref], with the maker's fire class for that thickness. [HPL to BS EN 438-3, [0.8] mm] bonded to [substrate] with a balancing laminate on the reverse.
Terms used on this page
- MDF.H
- The EN 622-5 type of MDF for humid interior conditions, usually sold as moisture-resistant (MR). Not for use outdoors.
- FR MDF
- MDF made with a fire retardant, sold with a declared Euroclass such as B-s1,d0 for given thicknesses.
- Compact laminate
- A self-supporting board of resin-bonded paper layers, 2 mm or thicker (BS EN 438-4).
Standards and sources
- USDA Wood Handbook FPL-GTR-282 (2021), Table 12-1; Architectural Woodwork Standards (2009), Section 4: US sources.
- Commission Decision 2007/348/EC (wood-based panels): Table 1, default reaction-to-fire classes.
- Approved Document B volumes 1 and 2 (England), amendments to 2026: Tables 4.1 and 6.1.
- BS EN 622-5, 312, 300, 636, 13986, 438-3, 438-4: status only; not read.
Questions we are asked
Which is best: MDF, plywood or chipboard?
None, in general. Plywood is the stiffest of the boards read (birch plywood about 7,500 to 10,000 N/mm² against 2,000 to 2,700 for MDF and 1,200 to 1,800 for P2 particleboard), MDF has the smoothest faces and edges for paint and lacquer, and particleboard has the lowest stiffness of the boards read. Pick from the job: carcase, sprayed door, damp room, fire, worktop.
Is moisture-resistant MDF waterproof?
No. The data sheets say it is for humid interior conditions and not suitable for external use, and one adds that it must be coated on every face before it is installed, especially next to damp plaster. In the cyclic test, which soaks, freezes and dries the board three times, the MR boards read swell by 15 to 19 per cent in thickness.
Is MDF fire retardant?
Ordinary MDF is not. A board of 600 kg/m³ or more and at least 9 mm, fixed directly to a class A1 or A2 substrate, defaults to class D-s2,d0 under Commission Decision 2007/348/EC. Fire-retardant MDF is a different product: the data sheets read state B-s1,d0 for 6 to 30 mm on one and B-s2,d0 or B-s1,d0 by thickness on the other.
What is the difference between HPL and compact laminate?
Thin HPL is under 2 mm and is bonded to a substrate (BS EN 438-3). Compact laminate is 2 mm or thicker and stands alone, with a solid core (BS EN 438-4); one maker describes its boards as dimensionally stable and self-supporting above 5 mm.
Can OSB be used in joinery?
The data sheets we read describe OSB/3 as a load-bearing panel for humid conditions, with stiffness of 3,500 N/mm² in the strong direction and 1,400 across. We found no source for using it as a visible or finished joinery surface, so the page does not recommend it for one.
What is the difference between blockboard and plywood?
Blockboard has a core of timber strips between veneers, which the American woodwork standards call a lumber core, rated excellent for bending strength and good for the other properties in their table. Plywood is veneers throughout. We found no strength figure for blockboard in a source we could read.
Download the factsheet
A two-page A4 PDF with the job-to-board table, the stiffness chart, the fire classes asked for and paste-in wording, to keep with your project file.